top of page
Senior Businesswoman

Summit College Club

For over 100 years, the Summit College Club has brought women together to advance equity and education while forging lasting friendships. Our branch is centered in Summit, New Jersey, but members reside in various towns in the surrounding area, primarily in Union and Essex counties. Our membership is as diverse as the women of today in terms of family situations, current and past professional lives, and personal interests. What draws us together is a shared commitment to enhancing opportunity for women and girls, now and in the future...and the simple satisfaction of working together over the years.

Mission Statement

Our branch mission is the same as the mission of AAUW nationally: To advance gender equity through research, education and advocacy.

Summit College Club is well known in our area for our annual Book Sale, which funds our Scholarships for exceptional young women in our area. We also offer regular programs to the public that celebrate exceptional women and/or provide training or information of value to women today. Our Interest Groups bring members together through shared activities. From time to time, we undertake additional service projects to benefit our communities.

A portion of each member’s dues go directly to the National AAUW organization to fund research, advocacy and program development. Thus, indirectly all of our members participate in realizing the vision of equity for women and girls.

Young Women with Backpacks

 Executing The Mission:
What We Do

Board and Committee Chairs: 2024-2025

Our membership year begins July 1 and ends June 30.

Elected Officers:

President: Lynne Rogerson

Vice President, Finance: Jackie Wetcher

Co-Vice Presidents, Programs: Ellen Ptalis, Karen Weis

Co-Vice Presidents, Membership: Anita Meritt, Maria Tabone

Secretary, Recording: Lorene Connolly

Treasurer: Janice Hartman

Assistant Treasurer, Dues: Hedy Tukey

Standing Committees: 

Book Sale: Committee

Publicity: Lorna Ness, Coordinator

Scholarship Committee: Marylou Motto and Ellie
, Co-Chairs

Yearbook: Committee

Website & Bulletin: Karen Kaplan

bottom of page